2019 Your Utah, Your Future Awardees Announced

Published in What's Current


On Thursday, May 23, Governor Gary Herbert will present the Your Utah, Your Future Awards to seven Utah-based projects and one individual for projects and developments that sustainably improve the quality of life in Utah and address some of the state’s toughest problems. Awards will go to projects focused on community design, transportation, water conservation, emissions reduction, disaster resilience, and education. The governor’s office organized the awards in partnership with Envision Utah and the Quality Growth Commission.

The awards are based on the Your Utah, Your Future Vision for 2050 — a plan to improve quality of life while accommodating future growth in Utah. More than 52,000 Utahns participated in the Envision Utah-led Your Utah, Your Future process, creating a vision to keep Utah a great place to live even as population grows. The awards mark progress towards that vision—the only statewide vision in the country—and recognize projects across four categories or “cornerstones” (see categories and winners below).

Dozens of projects and organizations were nominated for the Your Utah, Your Future Awards. Finalists were selected by the Envision Utah board of directors, and winners were selected by representatives from the Governor’s Office, the Quality Growth Commission and Envision Utah.

The following are Your Utah, Your Future Awards winners by category:

Cornerstone One: A Network of Quality Communities
West Valley City Fairbourne Station
Holladay Village Center

Cornerstone Two: Homes, Buildings, Landscaping and Cars of the Future
Mark Miller Toyota: Smog Rating Window Sticker
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Disaster Resilience

Cornerstone Three: A Thriving Rural Utah
Grand County High Density Housing Overlay Ordinance 

Cornerstone Four: People Prepared for the Future
Salt Lake City School District Peer Assistance Review Program 

Lifetime Achievement Award
Wilf Sommerkorn

More in this category: « 2017 Common Good Awards